Indian Cricket Team World Cup 2011 Squad Announced, No Rohit Sharma


Updated Trends: The Indian Cricket Team for the World Cup 2011 squad has been announced in Chennai, and there is a major setback for one player and that is Rohit Sharma, who is unfortunately not included. The 15 man World Cup 2011 ODI Squad has been announced in Chennai, and the committee has chosen a host of spinners which Piyush Chawla, R. Ashwin and Pragyan Ojha.

world cup 2011 india

The concern before the announcement were Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir and Praveen Kumar, who have fitness issues regularly, but the committee was confident enough over their health and proudly allotted them a place in the squad. The World Cup 2011 is scheduled to commence on the 19th February in India.

In the fast bowling department, Ishant Sharma and Sreesanth have been left out, and Munaf Patel has filled in the spot along with Zaheer Khan and Harbhajan Singh. This time the selectors have gone with a plan to release a spin attack during the series, as the bowlers will enjoy full liberty of bowling in subcontinent conditions.

Source: CricInfo